Close this search box.

‘The Real Housewives Of Gqeberha’ Coming To 1Magic This February

South Africa is now home to 5 franchises.
Real Housewives of Gqeberha, RHOGQ

The Real Housewives of Gqeberha are officially coming to 1Magic this February, according to a brand new press release, making it the fifth franchise in South Africa.

1Magic released a short clip on social media just yesterday (Thursday, January 5) teasing the show’s announcement but has not yet confirmed any of the women set to participate in the series.

The Real Housewives of Gqeberha will be referred to as RHOGQ for short and follows in the footsteps of the other South African-based series like Johannesburg, Durban, Cape Town, and most recently Pretoria.

Gqeberha, formerly known as Port Elizabeth, is a city located on Algoa Bay in South Africa’s beautiful Eastern Cape Province. According to a quick Google search, the city is a major port and also known for its numerous beaches.

Real Housewives of Pretoria Season 1 cast, Real Housewives of Pretoria cast, RHOPTA cast, Pretoria Real Housewives cast
1Magic is set to launch The Real Housewives of Gqeberha, also known as RHOGQ, following The Real Housewives of Pretoria as the latest franchise in South Africa. (Photo: kykNET / TV Deets Composite)

While it has not yet been confirmed, hopefully The Real Housewives of Gqeberha, also known as RHOGQ, comes with English subtitles like the other SA franchises like RHOJ, RHODurban, and RHOCT.

The Real Housewives of Pretoria — which recently wrapped its first season — is the first South African series not to be in English, hurting its ability to grow a large international audience. Hopefully this new city ends up on international streaming services like Hayu, too, so that all Housewives fans can enjoy the sure-to-be juicy drama.

The Real Housewives of Gqeberha will premiere on 1Magic in February 2023.

Follow Us





Listen on Apple Podcasts

Share this post